About the Gallipoli Symphony

The story of the Gallipoli campaign is everlasting. It is a story of endeavour, courage, tragedy, great achievements and great sacrifices. It is a story of young nations and old coming together in conflict. It is, most of all a human story, of the spectrum of human emotions. This story is woven into the fabric of Australia, New Zealand and Turkey. Millions of words have been written about the campaign, but the story has never been ‘narrated’ musically, until now.

The Gallipoli Symphony is a major composition produced by internationally respected composers from Australia, New Zealand and Turkey. It represents the first time ever that eleven acclaimed composers from three nations that fought in the campaign have collaborated on a single commemorative work of this scale.

The Gallipoli story was structured into parts, like chapters in a book, each themed around an element of the campaign and assigned to a composer to create a work based on that theme.

Omar Faruk Tekbilek (Turkey)
Gareth Farr and Richard Nunns (New Zealand)
Graeme Koehne AO (Australia)
Peter Sculthorpe AO OBE (Australia)
Elena Kats-Chernin (Australia)
Kamran Ince (Turkey)
Ross Harris (New Zealand)
Andrew Schultz (Australia)
Ross Edwards (Australia)
Demir Demirkan (Turkey)
Graeme Koehne AO (Australia)

Every year since 2006 a movement of the Symphony has been presented at Gallipoli. Leading classical and traditional musicians engaged from Turkey, Australia and New Zealand, augmented by musicians drawn from the Australian and New Zealand military bands performed a piece of The Gallipoli Symphony in the early hours of 25 April for the thousands of attendees awaiting the Dawn Service.

After ten years in the making, The Gallipoli Symphony will be performed for the world in 2015.

The Gallipoli Symphony creates an important legacy. It tells the story of the Gallipoli campaign through music; reminding us of the horror and the heartache and carrying a message of hope, peace, friendship and collaboration between nations.